Back To News

Kohler Sets the Pace After Opening Round of Mid-Am

October 5th, 2021

Enfield, NH – Ryan Kohler (Hooper GC) shot an opening round of 4-under par 68 to take an early lead at the 37th New Hampshire Golf Association (NHGA) Mid-Amateur Championship, being held at Montcalm GC. Kohler is a two-time winner of this event, having previously taken the crown at Stonebridge CC (2015) and at last year’s championship which was held at Lake Winnipesaukee GC. The defending champ leads a talented and accomplished group, which includes 2003 champion Craig Steckowych and Jamie Ferullo who both fired rounds of 2-under par 70 and are currently tied for second place.
Kohler’s round featured just a single bogey which came at the difficult par-3 17th which was playing at a stout 225 yards. But overall, the defending champion was pleased with his opening round performance. “I hit it well and made some putts. I’d like to hit the driver a little better tomorrow but I’m pleased with where I am after one round,” said Kohler.
His 4-under par first round score was the lowest opening round score in relation to par since Brett Wilson shot an opening round 68 at Lochmere Golf & CC in 2014. Wilson, who shot a first round 75 (+3), won that event by four shots.
Still, Kohler must contend with a golf course that presents a formidable test and a host of challengers with plenty of Mid-Am success. Past champions lurking include Jim Cilley (2008) and Matt Burroughs (2019) who both shot even-par 72. 2017 and 2018 champion James Pleat sits seven shots back after going out in 40 but shooing 1-under par on his inward nine to match Wilson’s three over tally.  
Montcalm welcomed more than 100 players and its 6,800 yard layout was shortened significantly for the opening round. Players were faced with the challenge of quick and undulating greens but weather conditions were generally tame, despite a cool start to the day. The field will be cut to the low-27 players and ties before Thursday’s final round.
Kohler will look to become the sixth player to repeat as champion and would join James Pleat (2017 & 2018), Brett Wilson (2013 & 2014), Phil Pleat (2011 & 2012/1995 & 1996), Danny Arvanitis (1986 & 1987), and John Lewandowski (1984 & 1985).
Wednesday’s second round will begin at 8:30am.
Results > CLICK HERE