Back To News

NHGA Junior Tour Concludes On a High Note At Junior Inviational

August 18th, 2020

Rye Beach, NH – The NHGA Junior Golf Tour sponsored by the Thorpe Family Foundation has officially concluded its season as the top players from each division came together at Abenaqui Country Club for the Junior Invitational event.  Division winners include Colin Fitzgerald (Birdie Boys), Madalyn Savary (Birdie Girls), Brian Adams (Eagle A Boys), Stephen Ramos (Eagle B Boys) and Carys Fennessy (Eagle Girls).
In the Birdie Boys division, 13-year-old Colin Fitzgerald Club took the win at the Junior Invitational with a nine-hole round of 44 (+8).  Fitzgerald’s 44 edged out 2019 Birdie Boys Player of the Year, Zach Nelson who fired a 51 (+15).  With Nelson’s 2nd place finish, he secured himself the Birdie Boys Player of the Year honor for the second-straight season.  In 2020, Nelson captured four 1st place finishes, including one in the Mike Ryan Memorial Championship where he and Madalyn Savary battled it out in the final match of their division.
11-year-old Madalyn Savary took the top spot in the Birdie Girls division as she fired a 47 (+11) in the Junior Invitational to win by six shots.  With that win, she also captures the Birdie Girls Player of the Year award.  Throughout the season, Savary picked up four victories and two 2nd place finishes to work her way to the top of the standings.  This is the second year in a row that Savary has been named the Birdie Girls Player of the Year.
Moving up an age division this season, Brian Adams fired a three-over par, 75 to win the Eagle A Boys division of the Junior Invitational.  Adams ended the season on a high note as he birdied the 18th hole at Abenaqui CC and also captured the Eagle A Boys Player of the Year honor.  Last year, Adams was the Eagle B Boys Player of the Year and keeps it going as he moved up to the next age division of the Junior Tour.  Of the seven Junior Tour events he competed in, Adams finished in the top 2 five times, with a victory at North Conway CC and now at Abenaqui CC.
Carys Fennessy ran away with her second win of the Junior Tour season at the Junior Invitational by shooting a four-over, 76 which was eight shots better than the next competitor in her division.  Fennessy’s round at Abenaqui CC included 14 pars and just four bogeys.  In 2nd place was Shivani Vora with an 84 (+12), which landed her the Eagle Girls Player of the Year award.  Vora captured two wins and four 2nd place finishes on her route to her third NHGA Junior Tour Player of the Year honor.  Previously, she was the 2015 and 2016 Birdie Girls Player of the Year.
In the Eagle B Boys division, Stephen Ramos took the win at Abenaqui CC with a four-over par, 76.  Ramos has now won all three NHGA Junior Tour events he has entered in, adding this victory to his ones from Pease GC and The Oaks GL.  Finishing in 3rd place with an 83 (+11) in the Junior Invitational, Myles O’Quinn solidified his Eagle B Boys Player of the Year honor.  O’Quinn played in nine NHGA Junior Tour events throughout the summer and finished in the top 2 eight times, with wins in the Mike Ryan Memorial Championship, the Junior Stableford and at the North Conway Junior Tour event.
The NHGA would like to congratulate all of the NHGA Junior Golf Tour members on a great season!  We hope you all made some new friends and countless memories.
Junior Invitational Results: CLICK HERE